Busniss community elect three new Chamber of Commerce board members Friday

Rate this item
(0 votes)

PHILIPSBURG -  The St. Maarten Chamber of Commerce and Industry experienced its largest turnout for an election in its history on Friday.

The election began at 9am and ended at 12 noon.

Well over 300 persons voted on Friday morning for the nineteen (19) candidates who campaigned for the three (3) positions that were vacant on the board of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

After the dust settled there were three winners.

For the small business sector the winners were Tamara Leonard with 103 votes and Ajay Rawtani who had 80 votes whilst for the large business the winner was Abdul Meyers with 14 votes.

Before the results of the election the voice of St. Maarten news spoke to the Managing Director of the St. Maarten Chamber of Commerce and Industry Claret Connor who expressed satisfaction with the voter turn out.

His comments can now be heard via PodCast.

DSC 8815

Last modified on Sunday, 04 December 2011 20:44
  • No comments found

Leave your comments

terms and condition.